I suggest you ...

downgrade option, not just upgrade

We should have the possibility to also downgrade droplets, not just upgrade. Sometimes we need a lot of power for some operations, but then we don't for some time, or maybe not at all anymore, so it would be nice to be able to downgrade a droplet, not just to upgrade it.
The current solution is to create a new one with a smaller plan, but this means configuring, installing and doing all that stuff which takes time and is not portable.

2,857 votes
Vote
Sign in
Check!
(thinking…)
Reset
or sign in with
  • facebook
  • google
    Password icon
    Signed in as (Sign out)
    You have left! (?) (thinking…)
    Mircea shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
    closed  ·  Brooke McKim responded  · 

    Hi everyone,

    There seems to be some confusion in this thread I wanted to clear up:

    When resizing using our “Flexible” option you are always able to downgrade to your original size.

    However, when using our permanent resize or creating a new Droplet you will not be able to downgrade to a smaller size. This is because we never shrink the filesystem of a Droplet to prevent the possibility of data corruption. For more information on our Resize feature check out this community tutorial https://www.digitalocean.com/community/tutorials/how-to-resize-your-droplets-on-digitalocean.

    102 comments

    Sign in
    Check!
    (thinking…)
    Reset
    or sign in with
    • facebook
    • google
      Password icon
      Signed in as (Sign out)
      Submitting...
      ← Previous 1 3 4 5 6

      Feedback and Knowledge Base